Ah, so you dont think Jews deserve a homeland?


This is somehow considered an argument when speaking of Palestine… you go through the historic facts, the expulsion of Palestinians, the lack of legitimacy for the establishment of the state of Israel, the current hellish conditions the Palestinians live under… and they (zionists) cough and say ‘Ah, so you don’t think that Jews deserve a homeland?’… as if this somehow will floor you and render your argument of anti-israel/zionism somewhat invalid!!! There is a slang term in arabic used when someone uses something totally unrelated as a response in a discussion ‘shoo jaab 6oz la-mar7aba?’ (the polite english version is ‘and what does that have to do with the price of eggs?’).

41 Responses

  1. And look how insolent their argument is! “we want a hoemland so we are free to take over other people’s homeland” is that what they are trying to say? It’s not even an argument, kicking people from their homes so you can have it for yourself… it’s not about having any homeland, they could as well have in in the pacific, it’s about the promised land, that specific land!

  2. I agree, it is an insolent arrogant argument… I want it, give it to me!

    Is it about the promised land though? I think it may be about that for some, but for others it was an excuse… and the location.

    The Zionists knew they would not get a european country, and their aim is to ‘reenetr europe strong’… they want to be european (or remain european in most cases), and Palestine is close enough with the added holiness in Judaism.

    If it was only about the holy land, they would have never even considered uganda as an option… but they did.

  3. I agree that the way that the way Palestine was carved up in 1947 was outrageous given the demographics of the region.

    As a European Australian I empathise with both communities given I am a child of the colonial power but at the same time a person who seeks a place called home.

    As a child, at school, I was taught a load of rubbish regarding indigenous Australians given it followed the colonialist narrative. Similarly, as a child watching cowboy and ‘Indian’ movies ‘we’ as an audience were given the impression the cowboys were good and the ‘Indians’ were bad. A critical post-colonialist analysis of history quickly puts this down to propaganda.

    There is much we can learn from the abomination of coloniation, or the domination of one people over another.

    But my caution is this is not limited to Europeans. Any group is capable of dehumanising another. The progression from oppressed group to oppressor can happen within a generation.

    I have put-together a blog on conflict and specifically the Palestinian-Israeli conflict if you would like to consider it.

    http://palestineisraelsolutions.blogspot.com/

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog stewart, I will read through your blog.

    With regards to what you are saying, about one group dehumanising another. It is a common european strategy when they want something from another land. We can see it (in a watered down degree) in the middle east today, how small nuances muslims exhibit, or any imperfections are blown up to mammoth scales. How Blair is now pandering to the extremist right (i.e. the BNP–scary)… and so far it seems to work, in the America’s and Australia. Other colonies, namely those in Africa are ridding themsleves of europeaness, in various ways, but are still recovering from the wrongs done to them during the european colonisation. Many europeans are today beginning to realise this, hence the governments wishing to gain from the tummult in the middle east must tread more carefully than their ancestors did… but still those in the way (so to speak) are being subjected to levels of demonisation, and the plantation of doubt among, so that brother fights brother.

    Now, there are no imagined wrongs from the zionists, it is real and it is a fact. I have tried to understand their point of view, from their websites and books they have written, and again and again i come up against the same thing… they have inhereted the european tradition of 1)dehumanise the enemy 2)the gift of the classic ‘fork tongue’ 3) double standards and 4) doing anything to get their goal. So the deaths of gazan families is poo pooed away as a ‘techinical fault’. The imprisonment of entire cities and towns, the prevention of ambulances and sick people from travelling to hospital is explained as a ‘security necessity’. The blowing of oneself up at a checkpoint is labelled ‘resident evil’.

    There is no love lost between arabs and zionists… but I say we should not hate everything about them, because unlike us (who are forced to roam the world thus being sbjected to all sides of the argument, since their side is more widely populised in western media) they are, by and large, ignorant of what their beloved state is doing. Those who have seen what happens, tend to change their minds, it happens even with the state of israel soldiers who served in the west bank and gaza, who start to advertise what their army is doing. I do not believe in ‘pure evil’, nor do I agree or support any dehumanisation of zionists… who knows? maybe they really are totally brain washed. But I cannot stomach those who know what is going on, and continue with their campaign.

    Now, to clarify, I do not live in the middle east. The news I watch and read is the BBC, and british newspapers., so am not so influences by the arab take on things.. yet, my pro-palestine stance grew stronger here. Because when u see the other side of the argument, in this case, u realise how wrong they are.

    apologies for the long reply🙂

  5. Please continue to seek the good in the other.

    This is one step towards peace.

    Jay Rothman, in ‘Resolving Identity-based Conflict’ (1997) reminds us “Who is the hero?’ Ask the rabbis of the Talmud. Their answer: ‘One who changes an enemy into a [friend].”

    Steps towards peace have been advanced by many Jewish critics who at great risk to themselves advocate for an end to the Israeli occupation of the Palestinian territories.

    See:

    http://palestineisraeljewishcritics.blogspot.com/

    It is a slow process. But we can have hope that peace will bve fopund just as soon as people realise that violence will not solve the problem. Violence only will excacerbate the conflict. For people to coexist there needs to be trust and not fear.

    All the best in your efforts for dialogue and the promotion of peace through reason in the New Year!

    Regards,

    Stewart Mills
    Sydney, Australia

  6. I checked the blog, many are familiar names. May I also add ‘Jews for Justice for Palestine’ (UK based), Neturei Karta (Palestine-USA), and I believe the director of the british ‘Deir Yassin Remembered’ is also jewish. None of this is news to me, in fact it makes perfect sense, I think it is Neturei Karta that accuse the zionist regime of hijacking the jewish faith, and Norman Finkelstein (Jewish-American academic) also argues that not only have they (the zionists) hijacked jewish faith but also the history of jewish suffering at european hands.

    The issue here is not the religions of the people involved, there are Palestinian Jews, founders of Neturei Karta! who condemn the state of israel and are supporters of a Palestinian state. The issue here is oppressor vs. oppressed, invader vs. indigeneous people, ‘a land without a people for a people without a land’ established in an ancient, well populated land.

    Now, you are an educated man, and since you are studying the Palestine-Israel conflict, you are well aware of the history of the establishment of the zionist state, and the ensuing racism which followed. Including the ethnic cleansing of lands seized in 1948, and the continued campaign to eradicate the land from it’s arab inhabitants till this day. Through brute force, demorialisation, starvation and imprisonment.

    All peace processes have managed to get the palestinians to conceded yet more of what little they have. Even now, the tax revenues, by right belonging to the PA, worth $800million have been withheld by Israel, and only $100mill has been returned to Mahmoud Abbas, the issue of the captured palestinian members of palestinian parliament have been swept away.

    To trust the state of israel, after such a track record, and without them doing something to earn it, would be downright stupid at this point.

  7. Just to clarify, I was not suggesting to blindly trust the present Israeli administration. I only raised the issue of trust as we need to keep this in mind as an end goal for the attainment of peace.

    However, of course in order to get to this goal there must be a certain level of healthy scepticism. My thesis points this out, especially towards the Israeli government:

    “The [third] chapter concludes that the Israeli leadership only superficially demonstrates a movement towards peace. The evidence of a the West Bank Wall built beyond the Green Line, continuation in settlement expansion by Israel highlights that the tried and tested expansionist approach of ‘getting facts on the ground’ is preferable as it advances future bargaining power. ”

    http://palestineisraelresolvingtheconflict1.blogspot.com/;
    http://palestineisraelconclusions.blogspot.com/

    On the issues of Jewish critics of the occupation, I did include some of the organisations you suggested, but on a separate site:
    http://palestineisraelsolutionsreconcil.blogspot.com/

    You might be interested in participating in a blog between myself and a South African regarding Jimmy Carter’s book.

    http://myrightword.blogspot.com/2006/12/coming-up-carter-vs-dershowitz.html

    Thanks again,

    Stewart Mills,
    Sydney, Australia

  8. thanks for the links, I have yet to read Jimmy Carters book. Will have a read through the final blog soon… you always have alot for me to read🙂

  9. To see Jimmy Carter’s comments on his book and to watch Norman Finkelstein’s positive review of the book see:

    http://www.democracynow.org/article.pl?sid=07/01/08/1414201

    I was notified of this interview when I viewed the University of Cork’s Palestine Solidarity Campaign website. It is a really helpful site.

    http://cosmos.ucc.ie/cs1064/jabowen/IPSC/php/home.php

    Regards

    Stewart Mills
    Sydney, Australia

  10. Thanks! will check them out!

  11. well the transcript of the debate between Finkelstein and Troy reminded me of an argument once used by a zionist against the use of the word apartheid when referring to the wall, ‘it is not apartheid, in south africa they did not let the whites and blacks share a bus, that is apartheid’. *sigh*

  12. A lot of problems surrounding the middle east have to do with Isreal. The more I read and learn about Irael, the more I see giving the Jews a homeland was a mistake. The US will eventually pay for siding with Isreal. We already have, it’s called 911.

  13. Awesome things here. I’m very satisfied to see your post. Thank you so much and I am taking a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  14. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before ending I am reading this impressive piece of writing to increase my knowledge.

  15. Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I
    had to ask. Does managing a well-established blog
    such as yours take a large amount of work? I
    am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in
    my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  16. Thank you for another informative site. The place else may I get that type of information written
    in such a perfect manner? I have a challenge that I am simply now operating on,
    and I have been on the look out for such info.

  17. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our
    whole community will be grateful to you.

  18. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m
    assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  19. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a
    year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a
    way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help
    would be really appreciated!

  20. With havin so much content and articles do you
    ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

  21. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and
    the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and
    you still care for to keep it sensible. I cant
    wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific
    site.

  22. Thanks for every other great article. Where else could anyone get that
    kind of info in such a perfect method of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am at the look for such information.

  23. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!
    It is the little changes that make the most important changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  24. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83
    views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  25. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    other than that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  26. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first
    comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

  27. Hi, yes this article is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot of things from
    it about blogging. thanks.

  28. Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you
    offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old
    rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  29. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I to find
    this topic to be really something that I feel I would never understand.

    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely huge
    for me. I am taking a look ahead for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  30. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it😉 I may come back
    once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the
    greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  31. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this site,
    for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this this web page
    conations actually good funny stuff too.

  32. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  33. Hi colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you desire to say concerning this
    paragraph, in my view its actually awesome in support of me.

  34. hello!,I love your writing so a lot! percentage we be in contact extra about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Taking a look ahead to look you.

  35. What’s up to all, the contents present at this site are really awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  36. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but
    I had to ask!

  37. There are plenty of options the other just has to help keep an
    eye on one’s budget. The purpose of those two components would be to establish a variety of communication on the list of various components, often up to about 300 feet. Get a notebook and take notes on all of the settings for every change you create to each track.

  38. Thank you so much for applying time in order to write “Ah, so you dont think Jews deserve a homeland?
    | Talking Virtually To Myself”. Thanks a ton once more -Helene

  39. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post. Thank you for supplying
    this info.

  40. Hello, yeah this piece of writing is genuinely good and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.

    thanks.

Leave a Reply

